Delhi Mumbai Expressway Route Map, Cost, Time & Latest News

Delhi Mumbai Expressway Route Map, Cost, Time, and Latest News will be discussed here. A controlled-access highway of 1,380 kilometers, also the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, was proposed by the Indian government to reduce the distance between the two economic hubs by dividing the travel time from 24 hours to 12 hours. But The project is going on and hopefully, it will complete in 2023. In today’s article, we will cover all the important aspects of the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway/ Highway Route, continue reading ahead.

Delhi Mumbai Expressway

This expressway inauguration will be on January 26, 2023, but the foundation stone was laid in March 2019, and the project will be officially launched on that date. Also, there are several plans for an eight-lane expressway that crosses five states and many greenfields. It will be developed into warehousing hubs as it passes through.

Besides constructing an e-highway on the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, but the government also plans to build a separate e-highway on the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway that will allow commercial vehicles like trucks and buses to move at a speed of 120 km/ph, it will also help to reduce pollution.  Also, a large part of the country’s logistics costs will also be reduced by 70% since e-highways will reduce them by 70%. For the review of the progress of the Delhi Mumbai Expressway project, the Union minister of road transport and highways, Nitin Gadkari, is scheduled to visit Delhi on September 16-17, 2021.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route

The expressway developed at an expense of Rs 98,000 crores, will go through five states, those are Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Maharashtra. So the expressway will begin from Gurgaon and pass through Jaipur and Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan, Ratlam in Madhya Pradesh, and Vadodara in Gujarat.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route

Delhi Mumbai Expressway route in Haryana

The expressway will start at NH919 from Bhirawati village in Sohna. It will run parallel to the Delhi-Alwar route in Haryana and will exit the state at Kolgaon village, Ferozpur Jhirka.

  1. NH919 (Sohna – Palwal), flyover interchange at Bhirawati village in Sohna.
  2. Western Peripheral Expressway (KMP Expressway) cloverleaf interchange near Khalilpur village.
  3. MDR132, flyover interchange east of Ujina on Nuh-Hodal link.
  4. MDR135, an interchange between Bhadas-Hathin in Bhadas.
  5. MDR131, flyover interchange towards the west of Pinangwan on Moolthan-Hodal section.
  6. NH22, flyover interchange east of Ferozepur Jhirka.
  7. Kolon village, south of Ferozpur Jhirka on the Haryana-Rajasthan border.

Delhi Mumbai Expressway route in Rajasthan

  • Alwar, interchanges at NH45, NH14, and NH44.
  • Rajgarh interchange at NH25A.
  • NH148, interchange on Manoharpur-Dausa highway.
  • Jaipur, intersections at NH21 and NH23.
  • NH552, interchange southwest of Sawai Madhopur.
  • NH29, Indragarh interchange.
  • Kota, interchanges at NH34, NH52, and NH27.
  • NH9A, Rawatbhata interchange.
  • NH31A, Neemuch interchange.

Delhi Mumbai Expressway route in Madhya Pradesh

  1. Interchange east of Bhanpura-Neemuch.
  2. East of Garoth.
  3. Mandsaur, interchanges at NH31 and NH14.
  4. Jaora.
  5. Ratlam and Banswara.
  6. Thandla.

Note – Construction work on a stretch of 106 km/h in Madhya Pradesh has already been completed and the remaining work will also be completed by November 2022.

Delhi Mumbai Expressway route in Gujarat

  • Dahod at Chhayan village
  • Godhra
  • Vadodara
  • Surat
  • Navsari

Delhi Mumbai Expressway route in Maharashtra

  • Valsad
  • Vapi-Silvassa
  • Virar (Palghar district)
  • Amane and Badlapur (Thane district)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port (JNPT), Navi Mumbai

The expressway will link urban centers of the national capital through the Delhi-Faridabad-Sohna section of the corridor, along with a branch leading to the Jewar Airport and another to Jawaharlal Nehru Port in Mumbai.

Read Also:

  1. Covaxin vs Covishield – Comparison, Efficacy & Side effects
  2. Co-WIN 1st/ 2nd Dose Vaccination Certificate Download
  3. Verification of Cowin Vaccine Certificate for 1st & 2nd Dose
  4. Cowin Vaccine Certificate Correction Procedure
  5. Types of Post Covid Effects, Symptoms & Conditions

Delhi Mumbai Expressway Route Map

Features of the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: Sustainable infrastructure

Wildlife crossings

So, The upcoming expressway, which will also be the longest greenfield expressway, will have India’s first animal bridges or animal overpasses. These will be designed to keep the wildlife section unaffected by the new infrastructure. There will be around five such animal overpasses, with a combined length of around 2.5 km, passing through the Ranthambore wildlife corridor and Mukundra wildlife sanctuaries in Rajasthan.

Environmentally friendly features

The greenfield expressway is also expected to cut around 850 million kg of carbon dioxide emissions. Besides, about 32 crore liters of fuel will be saved every year, which will also reduce traffic congestion. Also, The lights on the expressway will operate on the solar power system. The expressway will have a tree cover of two million trees, watered with drip irrigation on the entire stretch, and a rainwater harvesting system at every 500 meters.


There are so many plans to develop an e-highway, which is expected to cut down the logistics costs. Four lanes on this eight-lane expressway will be for e-vehicles only. A 1.5-meter-high wall will be constructed on both sides of the road for security. Toll plazas will be set up in slip lanes instead of highways.

Cost of Delhi-Mumbai Expressway

The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway is a huge flagship greenfield project implemented under the Bharatmala Pariyojna Phase-1 program. The expressway project is being executed in 52 construction packages. So, According to an official release by the government, out of the 1,380 kilometers, contracts for more than 1,200 kilometers have already been awarded and are in progress also.

The expressway project is being developed at Rs 98,000 crores, including the land acquisition cost. The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) has set up a special purpose vehicle (SPV), DME Developers (DMEL), to finance the expressway project and it will be fully owned by the Authority. And the NHAI recently said that the SPV had received an AAA rating from CRISIL, CARE, and India Ratings.

According to a recent statement by the NHAI, the SPV has raised Rs 9,731 crores to part-fund the project. The major share of the funding came from the State Bank of India that contributed Rs 5,000 crores. Other investors in the SPV are Punjab National Bank, Bank of Maharashtra, and Axis Bank.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway – Timeline

  1. January 2019: Land acquisition for Haryana stretch completed. Rajasthan, Gujarat, and Madhya Pradesh have yet to acquire land.
  2. March 2019: Foundation stone laid by union minister Nitin Gadkari. 148 km of work awarded and the rest project will be awarded within six months.
  3. September 2019: Civil work begins. The deadline for the project is 2020.
  4. February 2020: Deadline postponed to January 26, 2023.
  5. June 2020: Detailed project report (DPR) yet to be prepared for the last 33-km stretch. Around 497 km are under construction while the contract is yet to be awarded for 162 km.
  6. February 2021: During the Union Budget 2021 presentation, finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman said that the contract works for the remaining 260 km would be awarded before March 2021.
  7. September 11, 2021: Sohna-Jaipur section to become operational.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top